Hello fellow plotters and writers! You’re probably here because you’re a member of the Plot Factory family and use the software to create amazing worlds and stories. Plot Factory has a lot of really useful tools and features, and I’m going to show you how to use some of them.

Today we’re going to talk about how to create a shareable snapshot of your story, complete with a weblink to send to friends, beta readers and editors.

When you create one of these snapshots, the text can’t be copied and pasted into another document and Google won’t be able to index it, so you can’t accidentally ‘web-publish’ it. You can also delete your snapshot at any time, which immediately invalidates any links you’ve put out into the world. Best of all, you can be very selective about what is included under your shareable link; you can share everything you’ve written or choose just a small part of it. You have full control over what you share.

Without further ado, let’s get into the tutorial:


Step 1

Open up the story you want to share and click Share Story in the left-hand menu.


Step 2

To create a new story snapshot, you can click either Create Snapshot or the + icon in the upper right corner of the sharing panel.


Step 3

First of all, give your snapshot a title. Your story title will be auto-filled but because you might create more than one snapshot, it's a good idea to add a bit of extra detail such as a draft number, so you don't get your snapshots mixed up later.

Now you get to choose which parts of your story to share. You can select All chapters, which will include everything you've written, Range of chapters or check Select chapters and pick out a variety of chapters to include in your snapshot. 

This is also where you can add audio narration, but we'll cover that in a future tutorial. When you're ready, click Create Preview


Step 4

All of your story previews will be displayed in this panel, which is why it's a good idea to give them unique titles! Click on the title of your snapshot to open it in your browser. 

Use the icons on the right to copy a shareable link to your clipboard and delete the snapshot when you're ready to remove it. Bear in mind that once you've deleted a snapshot, the sharing link will stop working for everyone who has it.


Step 5

Congratulations, you've created a shareable story preview! This is what your shared story will look like. Your readers will be able to read the chapters you've shared one by one or select specific chapters using the menu on the left.


And there you have it, you're all ready to start creating and sharing previews of your stories. Why not log in and give it a try?